PDA

View Full Version : Anyone using Ride-rites or Air-Lift w/ 8" springs?



Tom
05-26-2003, 04:22 PM
I was thinking to add a system. (ride rite #2264 for 4" lift srpings), but was wondering what to do to take up the extra 4" gap. Maybe a custom block under the lower mount?
Any ideas?
-T

PITBULL62
05-27-2003, 09:04 AM
TOM

I HAD A RIDE RITE KIT ON A CHEVY WITH A 6" LIFT AND THEY MADE A BIG DIFFERENCE. THEN AGAIN IT WAS A CHEVY WHICH COULDNT HANDLE ANY WEIGHT. MAKE SURE THEY ARE FIRESTONE BAGS. ANY OTHER BRANDS I HAVE HEARD OF ARE NOTHING BUT TROUBLE.

ON MY CHEVY, WHICH I NO LONGER OWN DUE TO A THIRSTY MOTOR, I HAD TO USE A KIT MADE FOR A DODGE BECAUSE OF THE WAY THE CHEVY KIT WAS, IT WOULD NOT ALLOW FOR A LIFT. ACTUALLY IT WAS AN EXPERIMENT THAT WORKED. THE DODGE KIT FIT PERFECT BECAUSE OF THE WAY IT MOUNTED AND THEREBY ALLOWING FOR THE LIFT. YOU MIGHT CHECK INTO IT IT MAY WORK FOR YOU ALSO?? http://www.socaps.comimages/graemlins/confused.gif I BELIEVE THE CHEVY KIT MOUNTED ONTO THE AXLETUBES SOMEHOW. THE DODGE KIT MOUNTED ON THE OUTTER FRAME RAILS AND THE BAGS WOULD SIT RIGHT ONTOP OF THE LEAFPACK. ALSO, MAKE LIFE EASIER ON YOURSELF AND USE THE 'T' PROVIDED WITH THE KIT TO MERGE THE TWO(LEFT&RIGHT)LINES TOGETHER THAT WAY YOU DONT HAVE TO SET EACH LINE TO MATCH THE OTHERS PSI.......SOORY LONG POST.........ROB

Tom
05-27-2003, 04:41 PM
I've had the firestone airbags before. (92 F250 4x4)
The mounting was on the outside of the frame and on top of the leaf pack (like you stated).
I'm just not sure how to space it out for the lift.
4" additional lift is all they accomodate in their "kit".

As far as the T-fitting goes. I like to run the lines separately with schraeder valves for each side running to the license plate bolts (top ones). I use a jamb nut to hold the plate on and a cap on top of that. People don't know they are the fill valves for the air springs, thinking they are bolts for the license plate. (well, they might now!) Anyway, leaving them separate allows for individual adjustment (uneven loads...to a degreee). If I want them at equal pressure, I just use a short piece of 1/4" compressor line with 2 air fill valves on each end of it (.99 cents each at Harbor freight tools) This equalizes the pressure quickly.
-T

weweld
05-28-2003, 05:07 PM
I can make a 4" block to take up the space,just need to know how the mounts are made.
GENE http://www.socaps.comimages/graemlins/burnout.gif http://www.socaps.comimages/graemlins/usa.gif

Tom
05-28-2003, 07:25 PM
Thanks for your offer, Gene.
I'll probably take you up on it when they get here.
-Tom

weweld
05-29-2003, 09:38 AM
Tom
OK, I enjoy making parts and pieces. http://www.socaps.comimages/graemlins/cool.gif
GENE http://www.socaps.comimages/graemlins/burnout.gif http://www.socaps.comimages/graemlins/usa.gif

Tom
05-31-2003, 12:04 PM
I'm new to fabricating. I've got a Miller 210 and can do the welds, but...I'm not that good at cutting and measuring yet (DOH!) http://www.socaps.comimages/graemlins/smile.gif
Thanks for the offer, again.
I'll likely take you up on it. (and post pics for other memebers)
-T